COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT PANEL held at COMMITTEE ROOM -COUNCIL OFFICES, LONDON ROAD, SAFFRON WALDEN, ESSEX CB11 4ER, on MONDAY, 31 OCTOBER 2022 at 11.00 am

Present: Councillor P Lees (Chair) Councillors H Asker, M Caton and M Sutton

Officers in S Hayden (Community Development Officer) and A Lindsell attendance: (Democratic Services Officer)

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Barker.

Councillor Caton declared a non-pecuniary interest as his wife as Chair of Stansted Parish Council had nominated a number of the nominees for the awards.

2 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the meeting held on 27 September 2018 were approved as an accurate record.

3 NOMINATIONS FOR THE COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: SERVICE TO CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE

The panel discussed nominees for the Community Achievement Award: Service to Children and Young People and the following were agreed as worthy recipients: Dom Moloney Mike Bryne Mark Gerber Martin Boughtwood

4 NOMINATIONS FOR THE COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: SERVICE TO THE ELDERLY

There were no nominees for the Community Achievement Award: Service to the Elderly.

5 NOMINATIONS FOR THE COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: SERVICE TO PEOPLE WITH ASSISTED LIVING NEEDS

There were no nominees for the Community Achievement Award: Service to People with Assisted Living Needs.

6 NOMINATIONS FOR THE COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: SERVICE TO THE LOCAL COMMUNITY

The panel discussed nominees for the Community Achievement Award: Service to the Local Community and the following were agreed as worthy recipients: Ann Hollowav Berenice and John Oswin-Smith (joint award) Carol and Eddie Hatfield (joint award) **Catherine Dean** Christine and Sid Miller (joint award) **Derrick Giffin Dom Alexander** Graham Lowden Hanna Barraclough Henham Dragon Magazine Editorial Team **Isabelle** Page Jacqui Portway Jean Wilson Ken Kemp Leanne Eustace Leslie Shipp Peter Gibson Philip Johnson **Richard Carter Richard Thomas** Sophie Dulcher

Terry Frostick Tudor Owers

7 FORMAT OF THE EVENT

The Community Development Officer explained how previous ceremonies had been organised and outlined the proposed structure of the evening. The awardees, their guest and the person that made the nomination would be invited to attend the Chamber at 17:30. The order of service would begin with drinks being served before Councillor Lees, as Chair of the Community Achievement Panel, would make a welcome speech. Then the Community Development Officer would summarise the achievements of all of the nominees before the presentation ceremony commenced. Councillor Asker, the Chair of the Council would be invited to present the awards. After the presentation, the awardees would have a group photograph taken on the stairs. A buffet and drinks would then be served from the Committee Room, it was agreed that Cornell Court would provide the catering. The Leader of the Council expressed the panel's thanks to the Community Development Officer for their extensive work.

8 DATE OF THE EVENT

It was agreed to schedule the event for 5 January 2023.

The meeting ended at 12:00